Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Stewards Clarify Mexico GP Calls: Turn 1 a Racing Incident, Hamilton Hit With 10-Second Penalty for Turn 4 Shortcut

Officials said Verstappen met the axle guideline at the apex, with Hamilton’s grass rejoin judged to have created a lasting advantage.

Overview

  • Verstappen’s inside move at Turn 1 was deemed within F1 guidelines because his front axle was ahead at the apex, so the contact with Hamilton required no action.
  • Hamilton locked up at Turn 4 and bypassed the asphalt escape road as stewards accepted he carried too much speed to use it safely.
  • By cutting across the grass and rejoining ahead of Verstappen, Hamilton was found to have gained a lasting advantage and was issued a 10-second penalty.
  • The penalty was served during Hamilton’s pit stop and contributed to an eighth-place finish, while Verstappen recovered to third.
  • Hamilton later questioned consistency in enforcement, saying others cut the track without penalties and calling his sanction “kind of nuts.”