Particle.news
Download on the App Store

NFL Registers Texans’ Goal-Line Score as Aborted Play, Not Rushing Touchdown

Texans players said the sequence resulted from a miscommunication at the line of scrimmage.

Overview

  • The first-quarter snap went through C.J. Stroud’s legs at the 1-yard line, where Woody Marks collected the ball and ran in for a score.
  • The league’s official scorer recorded the sequence as an aborted play and credited Marks with a fumble recovery touchdown rather than a rushing TD.
  • Because of the ruling, Marks does not receive a rushing touchdown in his official statistics, a distinction that affects some fantasy football scoring.
  • Stroud said he mistakenly lined up under center when he should have been in shotgun and accepted responsibility for the communication error.
  • Center Jake Andrews said he did not feel Stroud under center, and coach DeMeco Ryans later clarified the odd-looking touchdown was the product of a miscue in a 40-20 Houston win.