Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Forward-Progress Call on Eagles’ Tush Push Renews Pressure for NFL Rule Review

The non-reviewable ruling in GiantsEagles refocused attention on how the play is officiated.

Overview

  • Referee Brad Rogers said the crew ruled Jalen Hurts’ forward progress was stopped, which made the sequence non-reviewable after Kayvon Thibodeaux appeared to force a fumble.
  • Giants coach Brian Daboll challenged the spot on fourth-and-1, lost the challenge and a timeout under the forward-progress ruling.
  • Philadelphia retained possession and scored two plays later on a Hurts touchdown pass to Saquon Barkley, and the Eagles went on to win 38-20.
  • Thibodeaux criticized the call as “bulls---,” with teammates noting he could face a fine for comments about officiating.
  • The incident follows an offseason vote that fell two owners short of banning pushes from behind and has renewed calls to revisit or clarify the play at future league meetings.