Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Forward-Progress Call on Eagles’ Tush Push Reignites NFL Rule Debate

Because forward progress is not reviewable, an apparent Giants takeaway stayed with Philadelphia.

Overview

  • On a 4th-and-1 in the second quarter, officials ruled Jalen Hurts’ forward progress was stopped on a tush push, nullifying Kayvon Thibodeaux’s apparent fumble recovery.
  • Giants coach Brian Daboll’s challenge failed because forward progress is not reviewable, costing New York a timeout.
  • Philadelphia scored two plays later on a Hurts pass to Saquon Barkley to take a 14-7 lead and went on to win 38-20.
  • Replays captured a whistle near the moment the ball came loose, and FOX rules analyst Dean Blandino noted the progress ruling governed the outcome.
  • The episode intensified season-long concerns over officiating and enforcement of the play; after a failed ban vote in May, the league has been monitoring it and reports indicate it will be revisited in offseason meetings.